Deez Nuts

I have two classes a day that are basically a study hall. It’s pretty boring, but sometimes that can be good, right? Anyway, it’s a transitory space where some kids spend all quarter, but a lot of them only spend a few weeks. Right now I have a kid with a name that I can’t say without giggling – and I’m thankful that since this is study hall I don’t interact with the kid often and I can actually talk to him without using his name. In a regular classroom I’d have to call on him or whatever, but in here it’s always quiet, so if I need his attention I just go sit next to him or tap him on his shoulder and wait a second for him to pull out his ear buds. I only use his name when talking to other people. I feel bad about the giggling (it’s highly unprofessional, I know), but, well, it’s funny. And because I’m aiming for anonymity on this blog and all, I can’t tell you his name. But I will tell you it’s as funny as if his name was “Deez Nutz.” Could you imagine? “Hey, did Deez Nuts turn in that grammar packet?” or “Deez Nutz was absent yesterday.” Yes! It’s that funny! But it’s not funny because it’s his name! You shouldn’t make fun of someone’s name! And really I’m not making fun; I just feel silly saying it out loud. Or reading it on his paper. Or thinking about it. Deez Nuts. Deez Nuts. Deez Nutz. It doesn’t get any less ridiculous, no matter how many times I type it!

Leave a comment